Advancing to the Designated Appraiser Commercial (DAC)

Updated July 25, 2023

Designated Appraiser Commercial (DAC) Education Program

DAC™ (Designated Appraiser Commercial) The DAC designation is granted to individuals who have achieved the DAR designation, and have completed the required educational program, and acquired sufficient field experience to fulfill the professional requirements of CNAREA. DAC designated appraisers are qualified to provide valuations on all real property types, including residential properties.

The following outlines the DAC program for those members with the DAR designation.

  1. Apply to the DAC Program by sending proof of the following to
    • Acquisition of a DAC supervisor
    • Minimum of 2 years experience or 3,000 hours full-time residential appraising experience (full-time hours obtained as a Candidate Member accepted)
  2. Once the above is verified by the CNAREA Education Department, complete the following course prerequisites and send proof of completion to to finalize your application to the DAC program:
    • College or University level introductory Microeconomics
    • College or University level introductory Macroeconomics
  3. Once accepted into the DAC Program, successfully complete the following courses offered by the Appraisal Institute (AI) or equivalent (AI Courses are available in classroom or on-line formats):
    • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 28hrs/2 hr exam
    • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 27 hrs/3 hr exam
    • General Appraiser Income Approach Part 1 – 27 hrs/3 hr exam
    • General Appraiser Income Approach Part 2 – 27 hrs/3 hr exam
    • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 28 hr/3 hr exam
    • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 28 hr/3 hr exam
  4. Successfully complete electives:
  5. Once education requirements are successfully completed, Commercial candidates must:
    • Display a minimum of 5 years full-time appraisal experience, including 1,000 hours of Commercial property appraisals
    • Submit 3 Commercial Appraisal Reports – a minimum of one (1) report must display the use of all three (3) approaches to value
    • Professional Peer Review and discussion of the three (3) submitted reports, including:
      • Answering questions pertaining to the submitted reports
      • General appraisal knowledge and application of USPAP
      • Demonstrating professional competence
    • Upon approval from the Professional Peer Review Panel, the DAC designation will be conferred.